Corn Cake- It’s not cornbread

Some days I really miss Mexican restaurants.  There is one not far from our house that is amazing and we’ve been going there for years.  The staff there knows us by sight and we always catch up on how everyone’s kids are doing before we think about ordering.   I could probably go talk with the chef to find something safe to eat, but my husband always asks me if I really want to torture myself like that.  He knows how much I love the chicken chimichanga, the delicious queso fresco on perfect beans and the wonderful cilantro infused rice.  Okay, he’s right.  Might be better to just make Mexican at home for now.

Have you ever had the little ball of sweet corn goodness that is sometimes served as a side dish at Mexican restaurants?  It is moist, has little bits of corn in it and tastes more like a dessert than a vegetable side dish.   For whatever reason I’d been craving that corn cake, or whatever its proper name is.   I have made homemade cornbread before but really was hoping to find something a bit faster to prepare.    I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com.  It is a sweet cornbread and I decided to replace the milk with water and a pinch of salt.   I think if you made it with milk it might be fluffier but with the water it is more dense, more like the corn cake I was looking for.

To my surprise, Jiffy corn muffin mix is milk and soy free (but always check yours).  Unfortunately, it does have hydrogenated lard in it.  I went ahead and used Jiffy for this recipe, really loving the convenience but bothered by the trans fat.   My hope is to come up with a cornbread mix I could keep on hand to use like Jiffy when I want dinner in a hurry. If anyone has one, I’d love a recipe! It is going on my list of recipe experiments to try.

So the results? Almost exactly like that corn cake from the restaurant.  It is very very moist and not like regular cornbread.  It completely satisfied my craving.

Corn Cake

Ingredients

1 (8oz) package of Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix

1 cup water

1 egg, beaten lightly

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 (14oz) can of Creamed Corn  (it contains no dairy!)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

Oil for greasing baking dish (I use canola)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Prepare a baking dish by oiling the sides and bottom lightly with oil. I use an 11 x7 pan, but a slightly larger or smaller pan also works, just adjust your cooking time a bit.   Empty the muffin mix into a medium bowl.   Add the water, egg, salt, corn and sugar and mix until combined.  Bake in the preheated oven, checking at 25 minutes for larger pans (9×13) and up to 35 minutes for 8×8 pans.  Remove from the oven when edges are just golden brown and a cake tester/toothpick inserted the middle comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

