Pumpkin Muffins

This week I saw I still had a can of pumpkin hanging around from the fall and decided to make some pumpkin muffins.  I have several pumpkin bread recipes hanging around my house and most call for oil so I didn’t have to come up with any milk/butter substitutes. Since I didn’t have to mess with the fats, I decided to play around with the flour.  I decided to use one of my new favorite baking products, whole wheat pastry flour.

(Whole Wheat Pastry Flour – Sorry for the wrinkly bag)

I have been substituting up to half of the white all-purpose flour called for in many recipes with this whole wheat pastry flour.  It makes my baked goods a little healthier and my family rarely knows the difference.  Don’t confuse it with regular all-purpose whole wheat flour though!  Being a pastry flour means it has lower protein so it will develop less gluten in the final product, making your treats more tender.  For this recipe I swapped out half of the all-purpose flour I usually use with the whole-wheat pastry flour.

I was so excited with how the muffins turned out.  Very very moist and flavorful and as usual, my husband had no idea they were half whole wheat flour.  I thought they had plenty of pumpkin spice flavor but sometime might try using the individual spices (cinnamon, ginger, clove, nutmeg) to see how that turns out too.   For the sake of getting these ready in a hurry for breakfast though, I grabbed the catch-all, pumpkin pie spice.  I’m thinking my next experiment with this recipe will be to figure out how to lower the sugar content to make them an even better breakfast choice for my kids.   If anyone has any thoughts I’d love to hear them!

Pumpkin Spice Muffins

Ingredients

1 can(15oz) pure pumpkin

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1/3 cup oil

1 1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour  (if you don’t have this, just use 3/4 cup all-purpose flour for a total 1 1/2 cups)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

Topping:

2 tablespoons powdered sugar

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.    Line a 12 count muffin tin with muffin cups.

Assemble the wet ingredients:  Whisk together the pumpkin, eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla. (Yes, sugar is usually on the “wet” team)

Assemble the dry ingredients:  In another bowl combine the flour, whole wheat pastry flour, baking powder, baking soda,  pumpkin pie spice,  1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and salt.

Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix together with a fork until just combined. (No lumps of flour showing but don’t overmix.)

Distribute the batter evenly among the muffin cups. (Hannah chose Dora the Explorer cups for these).   Bake 25-30 minutes.

While muffins are cooling, mix together the powdered sugar and 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon.   Use a shaker container or fine mesh sieve and sprinkle the sugar-cinnamon mixture over each muffin.  (You can shake it over the whole pan of muffins at one time or hold them over the sink one at a time for less mess.)

Leave a Reply

