Food Finds

After several friends telling me about the organic items available at Costco, I decided to go check out this megastore for myself.  I’ve been thinking about getting a membership there for a while.  The bulk produce is a big draw for us.  I’d also heard that Costco hae some “natural” baked goods and that they carry Huggies diapers in bulk. (We go through a ridiculous number of them.)  I was delighted to find that in addition to a lot of organic produce, I was able to find tortillas, french bread and a rosemary bread loaf that were all dairy and soy free.  They advertised lunchmeat cut straight from actual turkey breasts although I didn’t get to go check that out.  I had the kids with me and didn’t have as much time to explore as I would have liked, so hopefully there are more discoveries to be made.

In the last few weeks I’ve also found some new soy/dairy free ice creams that I can get at Whole Foods or my local grocery store, Dierbergs.  My favorite one is the So Delicious Cherry Amaretto coconut based ice cream.  So Delicious also makes a soy/dairy free mint chip coconut ice cream that I love, but I have to scoop out the chocolate flakes.  My daughter loves to”help” me with these and takes care of eating the chocolate spoonfuls. (Check your container though.  My container said soy free and contained no almond or soy lecithin but the website had a different list of ingredients for this item.)  The So Delicous website is really great for finding allergy information/ingredients for their products.  The third frozen delight I found is a sorbet made by Talenti: Roman Raspberry.  Just a handful of ingredients and very yummy.

My last recent food find is probably the one I am the most excited about.   I think it has the potential to bring Asian food back into my menu.  I was looking around online at possible substitutions for soy sauce and came across Coconut Secret Coconut Aminos.  It had great reviews as a soy sauce stand in so I went hunting it down and found it at Whole Foods for around $6 a bottle  (It was $14 on Amazon so price shop this stuff!)  Coconut Aminos are made from the sap of a coconut tree and sea salt.  The website discusses the health benefits of the product but what I care more about is that it is a safe food item for us and tastes a lot like soy sauce.  I would say it is a bit sweeter than regular soy sauce and seems mildly carbonated.  Make sure to open it slowly!  I haven’t cooked with it yet but I will definitely be trying it next week in a recipe.

Leave a Reply

