June Food Finds

Two quick food finds this week:

1.  Snyder’s of Hanover Pretzels- several varieties.  This safe food find is actually thanks to my dad who brought them to our house the weekend of Colin’s baptism.  He brought a giant box of Snyder’s Sourdough Hard Pretzels.  These super crunchy pretzels satisfy the salty munchy craving that rears its head every now and then. The ingredients are enriched wheat flour, water, salt, yeast and soda.  It does say that they are produced in a facility that handles peanut butter.  (We do okay with things produced in the same facility as nuts but I would probably pass up anything made on the same equipment.)  On the Snyder’s of Hanover website you can see the ingredients for other products they make.  I saw several more that are dairy and soy free.

2.  Penzey’s Chicken Soup Base and Seasoning – This is a dairy and soy free alternative to chicken bouillon, the first that I’ve found.  Sometimes I really just need a little chicken stock, like when I make milk free mashed potatoes. I used to keep little chicken stock hockey pucks in my freezer (1/4 cup of chicken stock each- freeze in a muffin pan) but lately I just can’t find the time to make stock and freeze it with all the rest of the cooking I’m doing.   Don’t look Martha Stewart- I’m cutting corners.  Finding little time savers like this Chicken Soup Base is great.   I can boil water and make just the amount of stock I need.  Unfortunately this was the only soup base flavor at Penzey’s Spices  that I could find that was safe. The rest contained soy. The ingredient list reads: cooked chicken meat, salt, sugar, food starch-modified (corn), maltodextrin, chicken fat, yeast extract, natural flavor, disodium inosinate and disodium guanylate, spice and coloring.

Leave a Reply

