Coconut Whipped Cream

Recently I started using coconut milk as a milk replacer in some of my cooking and baking.  I buy the real stuff in cans, not the cartons you can now find in the dairy aisle as those unfortunately all have carrageenan in them.  Finding the cans can be tricky at times but usually I can find them in the international section of a grocery store.  Although I primarily use light coconut milk, sometimes I buy the regular full fat version when I want to make ice cream or whipped cream!

Yes – dairy free whipped cream! Could it be true?  I’ve seen recipes floating around the internet for coconut whipped cream and after months of dairy deprivation it sounded so yummy.  I gave it a go and was very surprised.  The texture was much better than I expected, just like whipped cream and it is delicious.  It definitely tastes like coconut but as I added more powdered sugar, I thought it tasted closer to real whipped cream.   I made a half batch to try it out and ended up eating all of it spooned over raspberries.  I made a dessert with angel food cake, strawberries and this whipped cream two days later just so I could eat more.  It’s a super easy recipe and definitely a great addition to the Milk and Soy Free dessert list.

Coconut Whipped Cream

Ingredients

1 can of coconut milk- (light coconut milk will not work for this)

2-3 tablespoons powdered sugar (or to taste)

1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)

Directions

Place the can of coconut milk in the fridge for several hours or overnight until well chilled.

Remove the top of the can and scoop out all of the solids that have accumulated at the top and place them in a mixing bowl.   Save the liquids for other baking uses.

Use a hand mixer or stand mixer and whip the coconut solids on high for three minutes, scraping down the sides a few times.  Add the powdered sugar and vanilla, if using, and beat for another minute.

You can see here that does get to a great whipped texture like homemade whipped cream.

 

Use/eat the whipped cream immediately.  You can store it in the refrigerator for several days but it will lose some of its volume.

It is great on lots of desserts but I also enjoy putting it on hot coffee and sprinkling with cinnamon.  Turns my morning decaf coffee into something special.

Leave a Reply

