Angel Food Cake

One of Hannah’s favorite desserts is “strawberry shortcake”.  Really what I make is angel food cake torn into pieces, strawberries sliced over the top, a splash of milk to moisten and sometimes a tiny dollop of whipped cream.  This is how I ate is as a child and I’ve got Hannah hooked on it.  I’ve been buying some store-bought angel food cakes and although they say they are free of any offending ingredients, Colin has repeatedly gotten fussy after I eat them.  My guess is that it is due to contamination on the baking line and so I decided to try my hand at making my own.

I’m not a huge fan of angel food cake.  It usually is too airy and lacking in flavor.  Some I’ve eaten have almost had a bite or metallic taste so it is usually a dessert I would pass on.  However, after making my own I am happy to say that homemade angel food cake is very different from the box or store kind and much much better. Mine was more dense, but in a good way,  and actually tasted like something.  My husband and I were so surprised eating it.  He feels the same way about the typical angel food cake as I do and he really loved the one I made.

To make the cake I followed this recipe.  The only change I made was using a bundt pan (ungreased) instead of a tube pan, since I don’t own one.  For the egg whites I used egg whites from a carton since I had them on hand and it made the prep time really fast.  I let the egg whites beat in the stand mixer while I put the rest of the ingredients together.  My only tip would be to make sure to beat your egg whites long enough.  They need to form stiff peaks to create the volume in the cake.  As soon as the cake came out of the oven I turned it over on top of a beer bottle and let it cool completely.  I ran a knife down the sides and along the inside edge and it came out easily.

This would be great with some blueberries, strawberries and coconut whipped cream this week for the Fourth of July!

For my USA readers- have a happy and safe Fourth of July.  Try to stay cool!

Leave a Reply

