October Food Finds

Recently I’ve found quite a few dairy and soy free snacks for Colin and myself.  This group I found at Trader Joe’s.  Hopefully you are lucky enough to have one near you.  They have a unique selection of items and great prices.

1.  Trader Joe’s Freeze Dried Banana Chips- These are just freeze dried bananas.  They are great for us because they are just bananas, no other ingredients and they dissolve pretty quickly compared to the usual dried bananas.  I can eat them and if I break them up into little pieces, Colin can eat them.

2.  Trader Joe’s Coconut chips -These are little flakes of coconut.  They are small, like a little piece of tape.  They aren’t quite what I would think of as flakes and not quite chips.  They are sweet and crunchy and something I can have when I need that little something sweet to munch on.

3.   Trader Joe’s Top 8 Allegern Free Soft Baked Snickerdoodles –  I really like these cookies.  They are free of the top 8 allergens and are soft and chewy right out of the box.  If you’ve tasted my snickerdoodle recipe, they taste nothing like that.  They are much closer to a soft ginger snap in my opinion.  I think the dates and brown sugar in the cookie create a molasses-like flavor.  They are very very yummy!

4.   Trader Joe’s Spiced Cider – I have to put this on the list because I tell everyone about their cider.  Yes, you can get cider just about anywhere these days and adding mulling spices yourself isn’t hard, but I love this cider.  It is cider, not just apple juicen and the spices are just right.  All you need to do is warm up a mug and find a quiet place to enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

