Dairy and Soy Free Hamburger or Hotdog Buns

hamburger buns

We grill food all year long.  Even if it is snowing, my husband is out there at the Weber kettle.  I’m pretty sure the neighbors think he’s nuts but I think he secretly enjoys winter because he can stick a beer down in the snow and keep it cold.  I love his passion for grilling and the delicious food he makes regardless of the weather.

We make a lot of burgers, hot dogs and brats but I’ve yet to find dairy/soy-free buns that are also oat free at any grocery store.   For a while I just ate whatever we grilled without a bun, or wrapped in lettuce, but it just wasn’t the same.  Fortunately I came upon a recipe from Taste of Home that changed everything.  I now make fresh hamburger/hotdog buns anytime we need them and use leftovers for sandwiches during the week.    I keep a jar of active yeast in my fridge at all times and everything else in the recipe is pretty basic so I always have the ingredients on hand. 

One of my favorite things about this recipe is that it is fast for a bread recipe.  The process from start to finish only takes 40 minutes but I sometimes push mine to an hour if I have the time.  My kitchen is pretty cool  (temperature wise) and the extra time helped mine rise just a bit more.  But like I said, if you are in a rush, 40 minutes will do just fine!

I made a few adjustments to the original recipe.  First I always use half the sugar.  The original recipe calls for 1/4 cup but for my family, that was a bit much, and the buns were great without the extra sugar.  The second change I make is to sub in at least a half cup of whole wheat pastry flour for the AP flour.   The whole wheat pastry flour makes me feel a little better about all those simple carbs and my wheat-bread-fearing-daughter doesn’t mind it as long as it is half or less of the total flour in a recipe.

The total amount of flour I use in this recipe changes each time I make it, which is why the ingredients say you will need 3 to 3 1/2 cups of flour.  Your goal is to make a dough that is not sticky but not bone dry.  I usually add about 3 cups and then start testing it by touching it with my finger.  If my finger is covered in big gloopy dough, I keep adding flour.  If it is just a little bit sticky I stop adding flour.  When you knead the dough you can add a bit more if it sticks to your hands.

The recipe makes 1 dozen hamburger buns but the beauty of this dough is that you can make it into any size or shape buns that you need. I’ve made them into regular hamburger buns, mini burger buns and brat/hot dog buns.  I use a digital kitchen scale to help me portion out dough so they cook evenly but you can go by sight/feel too.  For hot dog buns I divide the dough into 10 pieces instead of 12 and roll them out to a length of 6 inches or so.  If you want a hoagie style bun, great for sandwiches, divide the dough into 8 pieces.

If you are nervous about making your own bread, as I know some people are, you can do this!  This recipe makes it easy!  I think one of the most important things to know is  that yeast is alive.  Treat it right and it will do great things for you.  Here are a few tips on using yeast that help me to get a good end result:

  1. When starting the dough, yeast likes warm water but not hot water.  Yeast dies instantly in 140 degree water.  I really like to use an instant thermometer to make sure I’ve got the water temp close to 115 or 120 degrees.  I don’t always trust my constantly cold hands to tell me if the water temp feels right. 
  2. If your yeast is old  (it doesn’t last forever) and you’re not sure if your yeast is still alive and kickin’, make sure to proof/test it.  Once the yeast is combined with the water and sugar in the recipe, let it sit for 10 minutes.  If it starts to bubble/foam up, your yeast is alive. Hurray!  If you don’t see anything happening, your yeast may be dead, time for new yeast.  I never proof my yeast anymore unless I pull an old packet out of the back of my pantry that has been hanging around a long time.  I keep a jar of yeast in the fridge and never have any problems with it. 
  3.  Dough should be kept in the warmer parts of your kitchen when rising because it does best around 78-80 degrees.   My kitchen is pretty cool in the winter which I why I like to give the dough an extra 20 minutes of rise time when our schedule allows it.

Quick Hamburger/Hotdog buns

Ingredients

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons very warm water, not hot (about 115 degrees F)

2 tablespoons active dry yeast

1/3 cup neutral oil, like canola oil

2 tablespoons granulated white sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 teaspoon salt

3 to 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour  (you can substitute in some whole wheat pastry flour here)

Directions

1.  Pour the warm water into a large bowl.  Sprinkle the yeast over the surface of the water.  Add the oil and sugar.  Let this stand for 5-10 minutes (if you are checking to see if your yeast is alive, it should foam/bubble up by the end of 10 minutes).

2.  Add the egg, salt and mix.  Slowly start adding in the flour.  Continue to add flour until a soft dough forms.  Usually it will take 3 cups of flour, the last 1/2 cup varies.  It shouldn’t be runny/gloopy or bone dry, but slightly tacky.

3.  Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

4.  Scrape the dough together into a ball with your hand or spatula and place it on a lightly floured kitchen counter.  Knead the dough for 3-5 minutes, adding flour if it is sticking to your hands.   Immediately divide into 12 pieces for hamburger buns or 10 pieces for hot dog buns.   For hamburgers roll into a ball and flatten slightly.  For hot dog buns roll out into 6 inch long pieces.  Place dough several inches apart on a greased baking sheet or silpat.   Cover with saran wrap and let rest in a warm spot for 10 minutes or up to 30 minutes.   (I think they improve with the longer rest but are still great if you only have time for 10 minutes).

5.   Uncover and bake for 8-12 minutes until golden brown.

7 responses

    • Thanks for stopping by. I wanted to address your comment since it is an important distinction.
      Eggs are found in the dairy section of many grocery stores, leading to a popular misconception that they are a dairy food. Dairy foods however, are foods that are a product of the mammary gland of mammals, so cows, goats, sheep milk etc. Eggs are an animal byproduct but not dairy. In past times they were lumped together as “dairy” but the nutritional makeup of dairy and eggs are very very different, which is especially important to know if you have allergies to one or the other.

    • If I am not mistaken eggs are a protein and not a dairy. Eggs are only in the dairy section because after they are washed they need refrigerator. Chicken poop and dirt covered eggs do not sell well in supermarkets so they are washed first 😉

    • You know I’m not sure I’ve ever frozen them. We eat them through the week for sandwiches or I make breadcrumbs. I will make a mental note to freeze some the next time I make a batch and report back!

  1. These were really good. I made my dough on the verge of being too sticky to work with. Only problem is you need a good baking pan and the key is to know how to space and fill it properly otherwise they rise more horizontally then vertically. Spacing is key! Next time I’m putting an empty pan in the bottom rack to block direct heat and putting these babies on the top rack!

Leave a Reply

