May Food Find- Krusteaz Apple Muffins

I haven’t done a Food Find post in a while so I thought I’d share a store-bought muffin mix I found recently: Krusteaz Fat Free Apple Cinnamon Muffin Mix.

Before I begin though, I thought I’d mention that I’m in no way connected to any of the foods I review, nor do I get any kind of free samples. These are things I find while spending an inordinate amount of time reading labels at grocery stores.  I post these things solely to help other families find options that might work for them and maybe spend a little less time grocery shopping.

applemuffin2

So I saw this Krusteaz muffin mix on the shelf at the grocery store and decided I would give it a try.  I love making homemade apple muffins but it takes a lot of time to prep all the apples and the whole process makes quite a mess.  That level of commitment to making muffins is often more than I want to deal with in the morning.   I’m always on the lookout for a box mix I can stash away for an impromptu breakfast or even better – to travel with!   I love my food processor but it doesn’t make the list of travel items.  Sooo… Krusteaz was up to bat.

The Krusteaz muffin mix cost $2.99.   Not crazy expensive like some of the specialty box mixes I’ve purchased in the past, so that was nice.

The ingredient list did not contain dairy or soy.   It does warn that the mix is made on the same machinery as these and other allergens, so I probably wouldn’t have given it to Colin in his worst days, but we take the risk now.   Although the ingredient list seems pretty allergy safe for us,  it isn’t a perfect option.  It includes a lot of things that wouldn’t be in muffins made from scratch, like high fructose corn syrup,  so I wouldn’t make it a weekly breakfast choice,  but I think that is par for the course with most boxed mixes.

IMG_5468

 

The box comes with a bag of dry mix, a pouch of apple filling and only requires water to mix it all up.  I loved that I didn’t need a milk alternative, which makes them even more convenient and travel friendly.   It was easy and crazy fast to prepare, so I had my doubts about the quality of the muffins.

applemuffin3

My little kitchen elves helping stir it together. They are so simple to make – the muffins that is.

 

applemuffin4

The apples come in a pouch. They taste like apple pie filling.

To my surprise the resulting muffins were very moist and flavorful.   The apples have a bit of the “apple filling” taste- probably from being cooked and having high fructose corn syrup in them, but they weren’t a deal breaker.   The muffins were overall good and I’d definitely eat them again.

IMG_3283

If I have the time and patience for homemade apple muffins, they would still be first in my book but this is a great option for convenience.  I actually purchased another box to take on a trip with me since they were so simple to make and good enough to share with family.

If you’d like to read more about the Krusteaz products or locate their products you can visit their website here.   If you can’t find this muffin mix at your store you can buy it here.

Leave a Reply

