Dairy Free Fruit Dip

IMG_0313

I am so excited about this post! I was so excited about this recipe I was even sending texts about it to other dairy intolerant family members.  Move over cream cheese dips -this is Dairy Free Fruit Dip!

Earlier this year I was getting our family ready for a mini-Super Bowl Party at our house for just the four of us.   My beloved Green Bay Packers weren’t in the game so I was way more interested in the food than the football.   In years past I’d made a cream-cheese based fruit dip and strawberries for game days, but decided to experiment a little so Colin could eat our party treats.   I mixed up some marshmallow crème, coconut milk vanilla yogurt, a bit of powdered sugar, and vanilla.  I whipped it together with hand held mixer and decided it could be even better with a little lemon zest and lemon juice.  The result was a delicious fruit dip that everyone in our family loved.  My husband he said he preferred it to the old cream cheese based one.   The texture of the dip was great and didn’t get runny like my coconut whip cream does after standing a while.  I can even see myself using it as a frosting substitute for Colin’s birthday treats.

Do yourself a favor and try this dip!

Here is the yogurt I used but feel free to experiment if you have a dairy free yogurt you like.  I’d go with vanilla or plain yogurt.  Try adding a little vanilla extract into the recipe if you use plain yogurt.

IMG_0311

 

Dairy Free Fruit Dip

Ingredients

7 0z Marshmallow crème (also known as marshmallow fluff. It comes in a jar)

6 oz. Vanilla flavored coconut yogurt  (if you can only get plain -add more sugar and vanilla to the recipe)

2 tablespoons Powdered sugar

1/2 teaspoon Vanilla

Zest of half of a small lemon

1 tablespoon lemon juice

Directions

Mix all ingredients together with a hand blender or whisk.  Serve with fruit for dipping.

 

IMG_0317

 

Advertisements

2 responses

    • Sorry to hear that ! If you are allergic to eggs or egg whites specifically then it wouldn’t be an option for you . There is a vegan marshmallow cream called Suzanne’s rice mellow marshmallow fluff although I’ve never tried it. It does contain soy. Just a side note: Eggs are actually not dairy. It is a common misconception since eggs are almost always found in the dairy section of a grocery store. :).
      Hope you find something that works for you !
      If my family couldn’t do the marshmallow fluff, I would serve a good tasting yogurt alternative in vanilla flavor (we use almond milk yogurt right now) and experiment with adding powdered sugar and/or a splash of orange juice to make it taste a little special

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s